Corny Keg as Secondary Fermenter

Started using a Corny keg as a secondary fermenter so I can push the beer into the keg to avoid oxygen.
I cut a small portion of the dip tube off to get a little space for any settlement so as to not transfer later.
I sealed the keg, then injected CO2 and vented thru relief for about 10-15 seconds to clear out oxygen.
I then transfered the beer into the out port so it fills from the bottom up.

My question is about venting:
I currently go down twice a day and pull the relief valve to let off any pressure. Usually has some pressure in keg.
Is this the way to do it?
I could also remove the gas ball lock port and hook up a blowoff tube into a star-san bucket.
This is my first attempt at this so want to see if anyone has experience with this.
Thanks, Bob

I have taken the whole gas post off and used a drilled stopped games over the threads with a standard 1-piece airlock. That worked pretty well. But really you want a spunding valve. That will maintain low pressure but not let it build up too high.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Is it done fermenting when you put it in the keg?
If so would it make sense to not release the pressure to let the beer start carbonating?
Just a thought.

Or you could remove just the pressure release valve or gas post and use a stopper and airlock?

i'm with @Dan Slater. You are using it as secondary. If fermentation is complete and you are not trying to have an actual secondary fermentation (fruit, brett, bacteria, etc), there is no reason to vent at all. hydrostatic pressure on the yeast is inconsequential and the vessel is rated to hold pressure.

my $0 fix.

For most ales, I leave in primary for 1-3 weeks and rack to keg, force carbonate, sometimes add gelatin to clarify, and it's good to go. No need to vent off pressure, and a full length dip tube will suck out any settled yeast in the first pint or 2 of beer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk